Posted in 29 Before 30, Holidays, Nightshade Free, Summer Solstice, Vegan Recipes

Summer Solstice!!

Today is Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year.  We finally had some sun today but the rain did come out for a while this afternoon.  I love celebrating Solstice and I am making a fun dinner filled with salads and fruit to celebrate the beginning of summer and all the fun it brings.  One of the recipes I have made is Corn Salad, which I got from a blog I follow called {custom made} life.

Corn Salad

Ingredients:

  • 5 ears of corn, shucked or 4 1/2 cups frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup small-diced red onion
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, julienned {or chopped}

Directions:

  1. If using frozen corn, skip to step 4 and just run under cold water to defrost.
  2. Cut the kernels off the cob, cutting close to the cob.
  3. Put kernels in pot, and boil for 3 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and run under cold water until corn is cold {or defrosted if using frozen}.
  5. Toss the kernels in a large bowl with the red onions, vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper.
  6. Just before serving, toss in the fresh basil.
  7. Taste for seasonings and serve cold or at room temperature

I am very excited about this salad because I get to use basil from my herb garden!!!!  So that is one thing crossed off my 29 things before I am 30 list.  I started my herb garden!!

Today I also got great news as I have found a Sparks group.  So over the next few weeks I will fill out the paper work go through an interview and fingers crossed become a Sparks guider!!  Sparks is for girls 5 and 6 (kindergarten and gr.1) and it is run through Girl Guides of Canada.  Girl Guides is a great way to volunteer and make a difference.                 I am uber excited about being a guider in the fall.

 

Author:

Mixed chick on mission to find natural beauty. Pluviophile with a love of wine, religion, politics, tea, and novels... Nightshade-Free Individual.

Leave a Reply

