Posted in About Me, Chévre, Cheesepalooza, Nightshade Free, Vegetarian Food

Cheesepalooza – Adventures in Cheese Making

I’m very late in my posting for September……It’s almost November and I am still trying to catch up…….What can I say, other than it’s been a very busy month!

I made cheese with my partners in crime back in September! That night we tried our hands at chévre, had a cheese tasting and made bikini rolls.

For dinner at our cheese making night we made Bikini Rolls from this blog. http://toostinkincute.blogspot.ca/2012/08/bikini-rolls.html They were very tasty and very healthy, helping to balance out our heavy on the cheese consuming night!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really enjoyed the chévre! I liked how it picked up the flavors and scent of the seasoning/herbs. My favorite by far was the peppercorn one. One of my partners in cheese crime @seelprojects decided to jar her chévre in fresh herbs and olive oil. You can find her blog HERE! This is something I would like to try in the coming future. I think with my remaining vacation this year, I am going to need to take a staycation and make cheese! I’m thinking in December when the world is frozen over and I have no desire to leave my house. My other cheese partner in crime @hcgardiner made a very fancy chocolate orange chévre and her blog can be found HERE!

I am enjoying the cheese making thus far and am on a time crunch for this month as I have chosen to do Feta and haven’t started yet! So my blog post of my cheese making might be a tad late for October as well. It will be the first cheese I am making without my cheese partners in crime, so wish me luck!

Tasting Notes:

  • Appearance:   creamy – like cream cheese
  • Nose (aroma):  It doesn’t really have an aroma
  • Overall Taste:   Pleasant
  • Sweet to Salty: In the middle.
  • Mild (mellow) to Robust to Pungent (stinky):  Medium.
  • Mouth Feel: (gritty, sandy, chewy, greasy, gummy, etc.):  creamy and smooth.

Here is the end result of the mayhem from the night! At our cheese tasting I tried two new cheeses that I had never had before coconut cheese and herbed halloumi. The coconut cheese was a little piece of heaven!

Left over cheese!
Author:

Mixed chick on mission to find natural beauty. Pluviophile with a love of wine, religion, politics, tea, and novels... Nightshade-Free Individual.

Leave a Reply

